Database Maintenance

Everyday HotSpot activity increases database size. Although HotSpot can handle a large amount of data, it might be a good idea to perform maintenance on a regular basis or to enable hourly, daily, or weekly automatic maintenance.

With the default HotSpot setting all the accounts are displayed after clicking on the Accounts button. With a large database and many old and expired accounts, it might take time to show them on screen. Account maintenance can help you keep the database fresh and speed up the display of accounts.

To enable automatic maintenance, go to HotSpot Setup – Database – Maintenance page, enable Auto to delete expired accounts option, set desired recurring interval, and configure needed additional options.

Other manual account maintenance options available on the page are:

Expire Before – Use it to delete the accounts which expired before the specified date
Last used before – Delete old accounts that have not been used lately
Time left less than – Use it to delete accounts with few minutes left time. In the field specify the time interval in minutes
Quota left less than – This filtering option will remove accounts with quota less than specified
Inactive – Delete all deactivated accounts
Unsold – Delete the account that is generated with Sell Later option enabled, but not sold yet

After selecting the desired options, please click Delete Accounts to delete the accounts from the database.

We also recommend to Delete Log entries. It is recommended to keep logs from last month.

No matter how careful you are, there are cases when you as Administrator or Operator create a bunch of accounts using wrong pricing plan or wrong Prefix and those accounts should be removed from Database.

Best way to do it is to delete the whole set of accounts using Generate ID used for account creation.

Find a set of accounts using Account group ID and press Delete Accounts button.

In case you want to remove all accounts from the database at the same time, press Delete All Accounts button.

Please be careful with these options since deleted accounts cannot be restored.

Updated on October 11, 2022

Was this article helpful?